A Gluten Free Pantry - What Do I Need
Unsafe Grains That Contain Gluten
Wheat- All varieties including spelt, durum, semolina, graham, faro, emmer, einkorn, triticale and kamut. All forms including whole grains, berries, germs, brans, flours, sprouted wheat and fermented wheat.
Barley- All varieties and forms including malt vinegars, malted milk drinks and candies, brown rice syrup made with rice malt and beer.
Safe, Gluten Free Grains
Indian Rice Grass
Rice flours- White, Sweet (also known as glutinous), Brown and Wild Rice
Safe, Gluten Free Bean Flours
Black bean (Urad dal)
chickpea. Sometimes this flour is called "gram" flour, not to be confused with "graham" flour, from wheat.
Garfava (combination of chickpea and fava bean flours)
Safe, Gluten Free Nut Flours
Safe, Gluten Free Root Vegetable Starches
Here is a simple guide put together to help you stock your pantry with the essentials and selected recipes to make in your kitchen.
Stocking Your Pantry
Garbanzo bean (chickpea) flour: This flour popular in Indian cuisine.
Quinoa flour: This flour is high in protein. It's great for breakfast goods, such as muffins, pancakes and waffles. But it does have a distinct flavor.
Sorghum flour: This flour has a neutral flavor, so it's great in baked goods. It's best to blend it with other flours, because on its own it produces a crumbly texture.
Buckwheat flour: This flour produces a relatively dense result, making it better blended with other flours or used for baked goods that would benefit from a dense texture, like brownies.
Amaranth flour: This flour is best combined with other flours. It helps create a crispy crust, so think of recipes like cookies or pizza dough. It's also typically blended with other flours.
White Rice flour: Flour made from rice has a very fine texture -- on its own it can create baked goods with a gluey texture, so it's best to blend it with other flours.
Potato starch: Not the same as potato flour, potato starch is used (in addition to the flours mentioned above) to add moistness and fine texture to baked goods.
Xanthan gum: You'll find this corn-based product called for by the teaspoonful in many gluten-free recipes -- it works as a thickener. Note that a little goes a long way, so don't add more than the recipe indicates
Watch for Cross Contamination
If you or a family member requires a diet that is gluten free, the easiest way to stick to the plan is to only buy foods that are gluten free in the first place. If a forbidden food never makes it into your home, it can't make it onto your plate.
Here are a few ideas for stocking a gluten free pantry, so you always have the right foods on hand.
Your gluten free pantry starts with great grains. Make sure you stock several types of rice, quinoa, corn, gluten free pastas, cream of rice cereal, corn tortillas, buckwheat, millet, and quinoa or other gluten free flours.
Try to stock whole grains in your gluten free pantry. Using whole grains allows you to make a wide range of products, and prevents hidden gluten from slipping in undetected. Be wary of pre-made rice mixes or any convenience products that are not labeled Gluten Free. While the base grain may not contain gluten, the sauce might.
Fats & Oils:
Most oils like olive, coconut, and vegetable, are okay for your gluten free pantry. Be wary of prepared salad dressings and mayos, some contain thickeners that are gluten based. You should also avoid any gravy or sauce mix that is not specifically labeled “gluten free”. Most of these contain starches and thickeners as well.
Most canned fruits are great additions to your gluten free pantry. Look for canned single fruits that have been packed in real juice for the healthiest option. The exception is canned “pie filling” fruits, these are made to be poured directly into a pie crust, and almost always contain added starch.
Include canned vegetables in your gluten free pantry. As long as your veggies aren’t packaged with sauce or seasonings, you can use them. “Creamed” or sauced vegetables or baked beans usually contain gluten based starches, and should be avoided.
Most commercially prepared snacks contain gluten: fruit snacks, puddings, and most granola products are made with wheat flour or other gluten containing ingredients. Stock your pantry with snacks you make yourself, and gluten free cookies and rice based crackers.
As more people are opting for gluten free diets, either by choice or necessity, more gluten free items are becoming available in your supermarket store or health food store. Look for “certified gluten free” labels to be sure you are stocking your gluten free pantry with food items you can enjoy in a variety of ways.
Everyday gluten free foods
* Dairy food (fresh and natural; check label for suspect additives)
* Condiments: spices (check label), herbs,
* Vinegrettes: Dressings made with healthy oils (olive oil is great) vinegars, lemon juice and herbs
* Wheat free soy sauce
* Creamy dressings: Home made mayonnaise or yoghurt dressing
* Spreads: Tahini sesame paste, nut butters, honey, jam (check label), hummus, avocado
* Grains and flours: brown rice, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, corn, tapioca
* Carbohydrate rich vegetables: yams, potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, parsnip
* Nuts and seeds